SP 2, 2010 begins

The new study period has begun and I’m doing NED11 from Curtin and COM14 from Griffith. I’m still negotiating my degree with Griffith because Curtin doesn’t ‘fulfill their requirements’ which seems to be uni-speak for “we have no idea how to slot their concept of a major into anywhere in particular”. It’s frustrating but I know it will be worth it in the long run. They don’t have the interest for me that Curtin already maintains, but Curtin just can’t seem to provide me with what I need in a BA via OUA, so I’m really stuck between a rock and a hard place.

The quest? A way to achieve a BA doing subjects relevant to me (not to somebody else). To do Internet Communications via Curtin, I do ten subjects I want to do (out of 24). That’s not very good motivation. After all, more than 50% of what I’ll be studying is in stuff I am not interested in, and have no need for. However, wouldn’t it be awesome if I could replace those ridiculous 14 units with something actually useful? Or even, at least, interesting? RMIT have four multimedia subjects that intrigue me (well six really), and because of the way ‘electives’ work, all the  units I want to complete are, therefore, electives and not ‘streams of a major’. There are a couple at Griffith as well but truth be told, I’m really up shit creek with a stick. It’s not a paddle but maybe, just maybe I can whittle it into one.

And that’s what I’m trying to do through Griffith. If I could do it through Curtin, I would, but I suspect if I’m not careful, I’m going to end up with a bunch of really useful information learned but no degree. Oh well, if that’s the way the cookie crumbles, it just shows how inflexible university is. Surely an Internet Web Design degree should include subjects on web communications, web design, multimedia, web graphics, and online communications? But there doesn’t seem to be a degree that studies that – not unless you leave most of it out and put a lot of sociology in there.

So I’ll keep struggling and fight the good fight. I’ll try to keep focused as well, as this study period is going to be a tough one for me – studying full time, working full time, home-maker full time, kite-flyer part time. So I did the only thing I could do to celebrate the start of the new session today…. I went shoe shopping. And I doubled my shoe wardrobe. Yay me! Now I own two pairs of sandals (and a pair of rubber thongs). Hopefully my husband enjoys my shoe fetish 😀

One thought on “SP 2, 2010 begins

  1. I am kind of perplexed that there is no multimedia units in the internet comm. degree, also ned11 does teach basics of photoshop but i found it hard to keep up with that part of the unit and think I need a full unit focused on photoshop and graphics. are you doing the 6 web design units? hopefully you enjoy the first one like I did.

Leave a Reply

