Assignment 7 – VIS15

Assignment 7

Record a minimum of 20 images of each of the location scenes that best describe its features. We would suggest that you take the first few image of a general view. The remainder of the images should communicate something about the detail of the location.
When you have finished the shooting sessions, answer the following questions for each subject:
1. How much difficulty did I have in finding interesting subject matter? How can I explain this?
2. How did the discovery of interesting detail add to my understanding of the scene?
3. Did the experience change the way I see the subject? If so, how?
4. How did I know when details were more important than the whole?
5. What new techniques, if any, did I learn through undertaking this project?
Make brief notes for Q. 1-5 (100 words for each subject) under a heading ‘Comments on Activity 7’.

Appraising the images

Select the best 4 images from each of the two (2) locations. Examine each location’s images and answer the following questions:
6. Are the images of a high technical quality? If not, what technical faults do they show?
7. Was the lighting appropriate for what I was trying to communicate? If not, how could the lighting have been improved to increase the impact of the images? (Refer to the section ‘Emotional quality of light’ in Module 2.)
8. For each location, which image has the greatest impact?
9. What is the source of the impact? Is it due to its composition, the use of colour, the location’s viewpoint or the quality of light?
Make brief notes on the questions 6-9 in approx. 100 words for each location under a heading ‘Appraisal Notes’.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

Deception Bay – 20 Images

Comments on Activity 7 – The Process

Landscape – Deception Bay

As a lover of Macro Photography, I have always found it harder to look at the “big picture’ than most, and I tend to identify more with the individual details. However, it was difficult to find a suitable landscape near my location that offers a large range of colours – there’s blue on blue, blue with more blue or for a change, a little blue. This made it difficult to find a subject that would showcase texture, form, organics etc that also included colour contrasts. Deception Bay did offer me the opportunity to wait until late afternoon and let the yellow streaks of the setting sun amplify what colours were already available. For this assignment, I applied a wide angle adaptor to my camera to try to encompass as much of the area as possible. This is a new technique for me, and gave the scene much more bluish overtones. This was the first time I photographed something where the photographs turned out better than the actual scene. Normally when I take pictures, I come away thinking that the photographic record I have taken, has not done the area justice. However, I feel my photos make Deception Bay seem prettier than it actually is.

Margate Mansion – 20 Images

Comments on Activity 7 – The Process

Architectural – Margate Mansion

This is one of my favourite mansions on the beachfront and has sat empty ever since it was built. Its odd angles and obsession with circles made it the perfect place to try and capture; however I really struggled with gaining correct perspective using my camera. We needed to place 12 foot ladders on top of stools to get some shots. The colour scheme also stands out with the yellow and red resonating and warming the building… while parts of the glass still have the blue plastic protective film on it, as if waiting for some new owners. I was also hampered by the high walls, (the ladder wouldn’t fit close to the building) and choosing a time to shoot was difficult because to capture the colours of the building meant shooting into the sun. Taking the close-up shots meant I was able to discover more of this building than previously and I loved the secrets it revealed – like the tiled water feature, the circular cut-outs in the ceilings and the blue plastic film coming off some of the verandah pieces. For this subject, I also tried to use a polarising filter on my camera but I’m not sure I’ve mastered how to use it.

The Final Four – Landscape

Mangrove Leaves

Mangrove Leaves

Anyone lost a cow?

Anyone lost a cow?

Lonely Rock

Lonely Rock

More to the Story

More to the Story

Appraisal Notes: Landscape

I believe these four images show technical accuracy in the use the four gestalt laws, the use of available light and compositionally. However, I feel the photos would have had more impact with morning light rather than afternoon light, as this would have added more reds and yellows to warm the images. The final image of the tree branch is the most impactful to me, as it tells a story. The tiny stream of water runs to the branch making your eyes follow it’s length to the rock. The clusters of shells in the foreground add extra interest and the light on the mud graduates from the top of the image toward the front.

The Final Four – Architectural

Circled Ceilings

Circled Ceilings

Bold Symmetry

Bold Symmetry

The House - Boat

The House - Boat

Geometry Gone GaGa

Geometry Gone GaGa

Appraisal Notes: Architectural

These images are technically flawed as they highlight the difficulties I faced with perspective and with polarisation from the reflective surfaces. The lighting was problematic as the colour of the house shows best in late afternoon, but that requires shooting into the sun. Perhaps a better alternative would have been to photograph early in the morning with the use of halogen lamps attached to cranes to give better use of highlights and shadows. I believe the final of these four has the most impact – not only because the colours of the house are showcased but also because the geometry of the windows and walls strike a pleasing medium. The composition adds to the impact by ensuring proximity, similarity, symmetry, closure and continuity.

2 thoughts on “Assignment 7 – VIS15

  1. Comments from Lu, my marker:

    My turn now = D

    December, although it was not required to submit all the photos, I appreciate that you did so I can grasp even more on your creative process.

    You’ve created the right strategy to take advantage of your natural location as working with light is the way to go when looking at expanding the range of color of the scenery, good on you! Other strategies that can be useful to you in this case include playing with white balance and contrast, but in reality all of these look fantastic, I just don’t know how you went about them.

    Likewise, with the architectural shooting, you’ve used the assignment to think it through and being aware of the impact of asserting perspective is perfect for this. In regards to using the polarizing filter, there’s not much of a right answer as the filter allows you graduation of its use and the more you practice, more you’ll feel confident in using it for the purposes of your shots.

    I especially like your choices of 4 images to make each photographic series as they showcase a variety of techniques and perspectives around the same subject, making them very rich to the viewer. When an assignment of this kind is performed so well, it’s really hard to choose a most impacting image but your favorite ones reflect the peak of your learning curve and that’s brilliant. I do agree that the choice of time of day for lighting of architectural location could have been studied further but as a matter of fact, image 3 is using it to its best and I think I like it even more than the last image. Your natural series is more exciting than the architectural one for its diversity of angles.

    Fantastic, thumbs up!!!
    Lu

Leave a Reply

