Week 3: The Glob Decisions

 

The Glob

The Glob

We’ve entered week 3 and at the end of this week, I must submit my first assignment. It is to consist of two grayscale images showcasing what I learned in the tutorial. The tutorial, this week, focused on the Glob. We disected, rearranged and transformed the glob into a variety of different items. Next we used the items to create something entirely new.

These tasks perplex me. I’m uncertain what the expected outcome is and I’m not entirely sure I rememberwhat I read on the OUA website that had me thinking this would be a good ‘graphic design’ unit but nonetheless, it is certainly challenging me. In the end, I did 5 images and eventually chose two to submit for my assignment.

Things I learned from this tutorial:

  • Shift+Control+C does a merged Copy, useful when copying a selection from multiple layers.
  • Shift+Control+T repeats a previous transformation on a duplicate layer. This is very handy for forming spirals etc.
  • I am nowhere nearly as talented as those in my class and find it difficult to stretch myself outside the box. I think I blame this on the polarity of doing a very creative unit with a Curtin unit (famous for its rigidity and inflexibility). This is something I’m not comfortable with and I need to learn to stretch myself and embrace these differences.

So here are the five images I created. I shan’t reveal which ones I actually submitted until the results are in. Can you guess which two I selected?

 

Exercise 1 Attempt - Crabish
Exercise 1 Attempt – Crabish
Exercise 1 Attempt - Pinwheel Ocean
Exercise 1 Attempt – Pinwheel Ocean
Exercise 1 Attempt - Driving Day
Exercise 1 Attempt – Driving Day
Exercise 1 Attempt - X-O-skeleton
Exercise 1 Attempt – X-O-skeleton
Exercise 1 Attempt - Fibonacci Sequence
Exercise 1 Attempt – Fibonacci Sequence

 

One thought on “Week 3: The Glob Decisions

  1. So the two that I submitted were Pinwheel Ocean (1B) and Driving Day (1A).

    Here is the result:
    Grade : 14.5 out of 20

    Comments : Good to see two diverse explorations of the possibilities of this exercise. Image 1A is particularly successful – its humour and inventiveness are very engaging. There are a couple of areas you could work on. Consider how you frame the figure in relationship to the space that surrounds it – for example, leaving more space to the top or bottom, and how that changes the image’s dynamic – how the figure ‘feels’ in its space. A way of describing this formally is positive and negative space – or, figure/ground relationships. Also, particularly in ‘1B’, consider how a greater variation in the scale of the elements, and the use of subtle overlapping to indict three-dimensional space, will create a more dynamic composition.

Leave a Reply

