Wk 3: The Voice with a Lost Harddrive.

This week, we started thinking about our voice – our personal voice and our public voice.  The voice that we write in when online. Of course, everything online is public, but the way we write for ourselves will be different when writing corporately.

I found this week extremely problematic because I lost my hard drive. Not only did I lose vital personal papers, documents and photographs, I also lost all my university stuff. Everything. Every single assignment, every single endnote reference, every reading I had ever downloaded for a unit, every iLecture, everything. Imagine discovering your car stolen and when you went to call the police, you realised your phone was gone. So you grab your wallet to get change to use a phone booth and realise your wallet was also stolen. You beg for 50 cents on the street to make the phone call, humiliating yourself in the process, and after asking a dozen people, you receive it but the phone in the booth is broken. You end up walking home, breaking the heel of your shoe, losing your handbag containing your house keys down a drain and arrive at your home to realise your dog has been stolen. You end up sleeping on your verandah that night, with no food, no shelter, no warmth, no nothing… and wake up to discover that none of this was just a bad dream. Now how does that feel? Right. Well the loss of my hard drive was shit loads worse than that!

So you can see how this week has NOT gone overly well for me. So I’m just very happy to have survived it at all, really 😀

Readings

Lüders, M. (2008). Conceptualizing Personal Media. New Media & Society, 10(5).

Walker, J. (2008). Blogs, Literacies and the Collapse of Private and Public. Leonardo Electronic Almanac, 16(2-3). Available: http://www.leonardo.info/LEA/PerthDAC/JWalker-Rettberg_LEA160203.pdf

McCullagh, K. (2008). Blogging: self presentation and privacy. Information & Communications Technology Law, 17(1), 3-23.

Tasks

  • In what way do you see the function of traditional mass-media and so-called personal media as being different?
  • In what way do you see the form of traditional mass-media and so-called personal media as being different?
  • In what way do you see the reliability of traditional mass-media and so-called personal media as being different?

Write a short personal narrative in the form of a blog post that explains why you are interested in the topic you have chosen for the purposes of this unit. Note that this task is explicitly about the reasons for your personal interest in the topic and not a discussion of why the topic itself is important. The piece should be no longer than 400 words and should suggest succinctly to the reader what it is about your topic that engages you and why.

My article can be found here: Sunday Photographer | The Passion of my Prose

2 thoughts on “Wk 3: The Voice with a Lost Harddrive.

  1. I can identify with that sinking feeling. A few years ago I had my 10 grand car stolen. I had no insurance. I didn’t get out of bed for a week. I simply wouldn’t have been able to function, but then I realised I had to move on (even though it distresses me somewhat to even think of it now).

    • My heart goes out to you Jamie. That would have sucked. And I’m sure it still hurts like crazy even now, years later.

      One thing I do know is that the unrecoverable stuff is unrecoverable… but it has screwed with how I will be forced to approach Uni, work and my social life in a new way for the next 12 -24 months, simply because the information that was always at my fingertips is no longer there. 😦

Leave a Reply

