Wk 4: Face Masks

This week we learned all about placing masks on faces. Part of the problem with the collection of people doing this unit with me, is that they are incredibly skilled and that is pushing the bar on what we are creating. It’s pushing me to my limit as well, but only in good ways – although I tend to feel my images are not as good as those with lesser previous PS skills than me. I think this is because they are showing fantastic creativity whereas I’m just using techniques to get by. However I did do much better with the second assignment compared to last time.

 

Examples of work by previous students for this assessment

Examples of work by previous students for this assessment

So as usual I made three images instead of two, but submitted only 2.

 

My first attempt after the tutorial

My first attempt after the tutorial

Attempt 2 and I submitted this one

Attempt 2 and I submitted this one

Attempt 3 and I submitted this one

Attempt 3 and I submitted this one

So as usual RMIT were very quick to give us our marks back. Here is my grade and comments:

Grade : 19 out of 20

Comments : In both images you show an exceptional exploration of the techniques, with highly creative and original results. In image 2A the ‘cyborg’ like wraparounds and blue inflected skin contrast almost violently with the delicacy of the intricate lacing – creating a juxtaposition that holds the eye as you try to understand who/what the character is or intends. 2B carries this disquieting disjuncture further. The lurid deep blue/purple and yellow/green background, molded like a 60’s vision of the future, adds to the overall feeling… maybe a kind of shattered dream of the future. You’ve got me thinking. You have applied great attention to detail and both images carry off a nice dark current of underground humour. Exciting work.

I can’t complain about that! 😀

 

Leave a Reply

