Wk 5: Photo Corrections

This week we learned all about Photo Correcting. Whilst there was nothing new, technique wise, for me to learn, I really enjoyed seeing different tools used in different ways. This was a good chance for me to refresh and invigorate my Photoshop skills.

This was my first attempt with stuff from Week 5’s lessons. There wasn’t anything really new in here for me, this week, but it was interesting seeing some of the techniques used in different ways. As an example, I’ve NEVER used the auto curves button before: Camera club always said to do it manually, but I really liked the results with the Auto button. For this image, i did a curves layer, photo filter, hue/saturation and then added a black to transparent gradient over the top set to Vivid Light. it’s looking a LOT more like it was when I took the image 😀

 

Glasshouse Mountains - December Medland CC-BY-NC-ND
Glasshouse Mountains – December Medland CC-BY-NC-ND

So I deliberately chose one that I didn’t think needed ‘too’ much work, and this took me twice as long as the last one (20 mins) LOL so i think that’s kind of funny. I added a photo filter, hue/sat and curves adjustment layers and then I duplicated the original image, gaussian blurred it to smooth out the skin and reduce the background’s impact… then i unmasked the eyes, lips and hair to keep them strong and clear and crisp.

 

My Friend Julie - December Medland CC-BY-NC-ND

My Friend Julie - December Medland CC-BY-NC-ND

Leave a Reply

